top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbby Welker

DIY Front Porch Stencil

This is the first project I've taken on at our house and I'm OBSESSED with how it turned out! I'll be linking everything I used and some of the porch decor! This was a fairly simple project and it only took me about 3 hours total. Of course I chose to do this project when the heat wave kicked in, but it was worth it!!


 

The stencil I used is gorgeous and it's from Etsy! Click here to go check out their Etsy shop!! They have some really pretty stencils. The one I used is called the Augusta Tile Stencil and I chose the 8x8 size. If you're stenciling a larger area, I would probably size up to the 12x12.


When stenciling, it's very important that you don't use too much paint on your brush! If you do, the paint will bleed under your stencil and the design will be smeared. The first picture above shows how much paint I used on my brush. I mostly used the paint from the lid of the paint can.


I didn't use painters tape to hold the stencil down, because I didn't want it to peel up my base coat. I held the stencil in place with one hand and painted with the other.


The paint I chose for this project is Valspar SeasonPlus paint. So far it's holding up well!


 

Now for some decor inspo!! First and foremost, the wreath on the front door was made by my best friend Megan! She has her own Etsy shop where she sells some of the most gorgeous wreaths I've ever seen! Go check out her page!!


The rug on our porch is from the Hearth and Hand collection by Joanna Gaines. Anyone else absolutely love Chip & Jo?! It's super affordable and I'll link it here! I'll also link a few more door mats that I've found that I think are so cute!



 

The Final Product:


I absolutely love how it turned out, I think it's Pinterest worthy, although I may be a little biased. The planter hanging on the wall is so cute, but unfortunately it's currently unavailable, so I'll link a few below!



When we moved in there were siding hooks hanging on the siding and I've never seen such a wonderful invention, instead of screwing screws into the siding, these just slip under a siding panel and lock into place to hang things! You can find some here!!


 

And there you have it! If you need any help, or have questions about anything I did, please don't hesitate to email me at abigailwelker1@gmail.com!


Happy DIYing!!


xoxo

198 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page