top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Writer's pictureAbby Welker

A Peek Into Our Living Room

Updated: Jan 30, 2019

Welcome to our home! I'm going to show you around our living room and give you a little insight for how I decorate and how I choose things for different places! I personally think our living room is sooo cozy (even though Braxton thinks we have way too many pillows...) You can never have too many pillows, right?



I absolutely love how cozy and comfy our living room is. When we first got the house, I knew I wanted the decor to resemble a "modern farmhouse" theme. I also knew that I wanted the colors to be neutral-mostly grey and white with some wood/metal accents. The photo above is the finished (but never really finished) product!! Now it's time to break down the living room for you and I'll add some links for some of the stuff I bought for the living room, and some things that are similar to what we have!


 


Couch shopping....

We looked and looked for about two weeks searching every furniture store website (websites because neither of us had time to go shopping in a store). Braxton and I knew that we wanted a sectional, because before we had a couple of small sofas that did NOT fit both of us comfortably (and who doesn't love snuggling on the couch and watching a movie when it's 10 degrees outside?)


We finally found a couple of couches that we liked, so we found time to drive over to Ashley Furniture to test them out. Unfortunately, we didn't make it all the way to the store because there was an ice storm, and we passed at least 3 cars in the ditch.... So after about an hour of measuring and discussing color/fabric/what side the chase lounge would be on, we finally called the store 15 minutes before they closed and placed an order for a new couch!!


After a long 4 weeks and many movie nights on the living room floor, the couch finally arrived and it's perfect. So soft, so comfortable, and we both fit on the couch comfortably. Win-win-win.


I'll link our couch here!!!


 

After the couch was ordered, I went online to find a rug. I've ordered a rug on Amazon before and I loved it, so i figured I could find something again. Rug shopping took almost as long as it did to find the couch... I finally found THE ONE on Amazon. This rug also had the option for a runner, so I got one to go in our hallway that would match the rug in the living room. This rug is soft and looks so good in our living room. Very happy with this Amazon find!


 

I found the old window that's hanging on the wall on Facebook MarketPlace. You can find a lot of good, old antiques if you search hard enough!! I only paid $20 for mine! The Grainery in Payson, IL also has so many good antiques, rustic decor, furniture, you name it they probably have it.

Here's their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/theoldgrainery/. They're really good about responding to messages, so if you have any questions, feel free to ask!

My old fireplace mantel and the farmhouse sign in the photos above are from The Grainery Warehouse. You could spend hours in there. If you love antique shopping, then you need to go and spend and entire Saturday afternoon there, it's that good.


 

Please feel free to contact me with any questions you have! You can find my contact page here! Thanks for reading.

113 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page